The Reformed Confessions

The Reformed confessions represent the considered, prayerful, exegetical, redemptive-historical, theological, and practical judgments of the Reformed Churches on the most important issues facing the churches in the 16th and 17th centuries. They are not systematic theologies in miniature. They are conclusions and rules about what Christians ought to believe and how they ought to practice the faith. They represent the theology, piety, and practice of the Reformed Churches across Europe and the British Isles in the classical period of Reformed theology. Many of these documents have been adopted and modified by contemporary Reformed Churches as they continue to confess and practice the historic Reformed faith. The documents most widely confessed and taught today are the Westminster Standards (i.e., the confession and catechisms) and the Three Forms of Unity (i.e., the Belgic Confession, the Heidelberg Catechism, and the Canons of the Synod of Dort). These are confessed by churches across the globe, in many languages and cultures.

This list is not exhaustive but it contains some of the more important Reformed documents. Not all of the documents included are orthodox, namely the Five Articles of Remonstrance (1610). These are the five articles to which the orthodox Reformed responded at the Synod of Dort and are included here for historical reference.

Supplementary Resources

Subscribe to the Heidelblog today!